Questions and answers about translations and language courses

FAQ

In order for a translation to be authenticated, or officially recognized, it is necessary that the translator or the translation agency be authorized and certified, and that it provide its own authentication, wherein it guarantees that the text in the target language corresponds in terms of content, length and meaning to the document in the source language. This authentication, in Switzerland, is recognized at the Cantonal level.

In order for the translated and authenticated document to be recognized nationally, a recognized notary must affix the translator’s signature. If, however, the document that is authenticated by the translator or by the translation agency and by the notary is to be recognized internationally, we must proceed with the apostille or legalization by the State Chancellery.
The certification process, in fact, entails two different authentication choices: the apostille statement, or the legalization via final certification by the diplomatic or consular representative.

The apostille is made in accordance with the Hague Convention of 1961, which Switzerland adhered to in 1970. The apostille is a certification that validates the authenticity of a public document for international use. The procedure is much more simple than a legalization, in that it dispenses with any additional attestation, whether in the country of origin or at the diplomatic or consular level. It therefore substitutes the legalization of the document carried out at the embassy of the Country in which the document will be used. Its validity is recognized only in Countries that adhere to the Convention and must be affixed by one of the Authorities identified in the Convention itself.

Legalization requires that all the official documents be legalized also by the appropriate diplomatic representative of the Country receiving your document. Moreover, it must also be stamped by the Clerk of the Court who recognizes the notary’s signature, before the document is sent to the Chancellery of the State for legalization.

For documents destined for countries that adhere to the Hague Convention, TI Traduce carries out its own recognized authentication, the notary authentication, the delivery of documents to the Chancellery of Bellinzona by post or courier, the apostille, and delivery to the client, by post or courier or in person.
As for documents destined for countries that do not adhere to the Hague Convention, TI Traduce carries out its own recognized authentication, the notary authentication, the authentication by the Clerk of the Court of Lugano, the delivery of documents to the Chancellery of Bellinzona by post or courier, the legalization, and delivery to the client, by post or courier or in person. The client will still have to personally go to the corresponding Consulate for final authentication.

TI Traduce can carry out the whole authentication process, up to legalization, within one day.

There are various ways to calculation the size of a job: by character, by word, by line or by Page. This is almost always based on a word count in Microsoft Word (in an open Microsoft Word document, click on ToolsWord Count).

By character

Characters are calculated with spaces included. If we calculate characters with spaces excluded, this would be the result: wordsthatareattachedtooneanotherandalmostillegible. One word is roughly equivalent to 6 characters (5 for the word + 1 space) if the text is in English – therefore a page of 1,500 characters is around 250 English words. An Italian word is equivalent to around 6.875 characters, according to AITI (Associazione Italiana Traduttori e Interpreti), and therefore there are around 218 words per page of 1,500 characters.

By word

The word count is the oldest and most widely used system in the world. Microsoft Word considers the following to be a word: that which is separated by a space, the end of a sentence, the end of a paragraph, or some types of punctuation. German words tend to be relatively long, while in English, for example, words are shorter. This means that a client cannot compare the cost of one translation in multiple languages based on the word count.
By line
This system does not penalize those languages that tend to have long words. However, it is imprecise because the final line of a paragraph may contain just one word, so systems were invented to count half lines. These methods were then replaced by the calculation of characters contained in a line, which, in turn, may vary according to language, but on average are about 55 characters, or 7 words, per line.

By Page

There are various types of pages when it comes to calculating the size of a translation: legal, journalistic, editorial, and university. In most cases, however, for translation purposes, a Page consists in 1,500 characters. One Page of 1,500 characters corresponds to approximately:

212-218 words in Italian

250 words in English

210 words in French

200 words in German

Group Course

When a class is held with two or more students, it is a group course. The advantage of a group course is that the participants can compare with one another, interacting in a constructive and stimulating manner with the native speaking teacher. For a successful group course, it is fundamental to be at a uniform level, which is verified by means of an excellent Placement Test. It is also important for there to be a balance between the issues to be discussed, the rhythm, the intensity and the workload at home. The ideal duration of a class should be between 60 and 90 minutes, so as to be able to address the scheduled topic with enough time and so as not to lose interest. The optimal maximum number of participants is 5-6.

Individual Course

The individual course allows you to make the most of your time. The student proceeds with learning the language according to his own rhythm and intensity, focusing on areas of difficultly and skimming over already understood concepts. This flexibility in schedule allows the student to take advantage of all the purchased lessons, without wasting time or money due to other unavoidable commitments. Another great advantage is the ability to select the content, or the lecture topics, as well as the areas of expertise; so one may request, for example, more of an emphasis on verbal lessons rather than on grammar.

There are different types of placement tests, which may also be found online. The ideal test should evaluate all areas (grammar, reading, listening and speaking). People are often at different levels depending on the discipline. For example, a computer expert might have more familiarity with a written text, but less when speaking on the phone, while someone who may have learned a language by moving to a certain place for a certain period of time, might have excellent comprehension, which is not always accompanied by perfect grammatical knowledge. In order to obtain a suitable evaluation, it is important to establish the purpose of the test ahead of time, as well as the reference scale and some parameters, such as, for example, in the case of a company course, the number of groups to be formed

CEFR is the acronym for the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. It was created in order to classify the degree of knowledge of a foreign European language into six levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2, in ascending order. A person at the A1 level can “survive”, being able to ask for food or drink and to ask for and give directions using extremely limited and basic language. The B1 level, these days, is considered the threshold level, or the level necessary, for example, in a university. The C2 level certifies full and complete mastery of the language, of its peculiarities and its expressive nuances. This classification system standardizes and provides a key for interpreting different scales and certificates.

CEFR CAMBRIDGE IELTS TOEFL iBT BULATS TOEIC
A1 2-2,5 8-23 -20
A2 KET 3-3,5 24-56 20-40 246-380
B1 PET, BEC 1 4-5 57-86 40-60 381-540
B2 FCE, BEC 2 5,5-6,5 87-109 60-75 541-700
C1 CAE, BEC 3 7-8 110-120 75-90 701-910
C2 CPE 8,5-9,0 90- 911-990

There are between 6,000 and 7,000 languages in the world, spoken by over 6 billion people in 189 independent states. In theory it is possible to translate to and from all of these languages. The most used, however, are Chinese, Spanish, English, Arabic, Hindi, Bengali, Portuguese, Russian, Japanese and German. English is the 2nd most spoken language in the world.

It begins with reading the text to be translated. Certain terms are underlined so their translation can be checked, and the necessary research is made, both in terms of terminology and in terms of the cultural knowledge necessary for fully understanding the source text. If necessary, a glossary is created. Our translators are specialized in a specific field, so the research and study phases are streamlined thanks to experience and specialization.
This is followed by the translation of the text, sentence by sentence. And then, if the first version is similar to a draft, the translated text is looked over again and corrected. Then the text is printed and left to “rest”. After this, a review of one’s own translation is made, comparing the source text with the final version, and correcting any remaining imperfections.

This is a bold statement. No one knows a language perfectly. Moreover, a translator must master at least two languages in order to translate. It is necessary to have knowledge of translation techniques, and a lot of practice certainly does not hurt. We are happy to meet you and offer you a translation test.

It is estimated that a standard page contains around 250 words (depending on the language). A professional, on average, translates a standard page per hour. If this does not seem like much, you must remember that this time frame includes the research, the glossary, the formatting, the revision, the registration of the assignment and its invoicing.

Questions et réponses sur les traductions et les cours de langue

FAQ

Pour qu’une traduction soit authentifiée, c’est-à-dire reconnue officiellement, il est nécessaire que le traducteur ou le bureau de traduction soit autorisé, certifié et appose son authentification par laquelle il garantit que le texte dans la langue cible correspond par son contenu, sa longueur et sa signification au document dans la langue de départ. En Suisse, cette authentification est reconnue au niveau cantonal.

Pour que le document traduit et authentifié soit reconnu au niveau national, il est nécessaire de faire apposer par un notaire reconnu l’authentification de la signature du traducteur. Si au contraire le document authentifié par le traducteur ou par le bureau de traduction et par le notaire doit être reconnu au niveau international, il convient de procéder à l’apostille ou à la légalisation de la part de la chancellerie d’État.

La procédure de certification prévoit en effet deux déclarations d’authentification distinctes : l’attestation de l’apostille ou la légalisation par le biais de la certification ultime de la représentation diplomatique ou consulaire.

L’apostille est constituée conformément à la Convention de La Haye de 1961 à laquelle la Suisse a adhéré en 1970. L’apostille est une certification qui valide, pour l’usage international, l’authenticité d’un document public. Sa procédure est bien plus simple que la légalisation dans la mesure où elle dispense de tout autre attestation, aussi bien dans le pays d’origine qu’au niveau diplomatique ou consulaire. Elle remplace donc la légalisation du document effectuée à l’ambassade de la nation dans laquelle l’acte sera utilisé. Sa validité est reconnue uniquement dans les pays signataires de la Convention et elle doit être apposée par une des autorités identifiées dans ladite Convention.

La légalisation nécessite que tous les documents officiels soient légalisés, y compris par la représentation diplomatique compétente de la nation à laquelle est destiné le document. En outre, le cachet de la chancellerie du tribunal qui reconnaît la signature du notaire est nécessaire, avant que le document ne soit envoyé à la chancellerie d’État pour la légalisation.

Pour les documents destinés aux pays qui ont adhéré à la Convention de La Haye, TI Traduce effectue son authentification reconnue, l’authentification notariée, l’envoi des documents à la chancellerie de Bellinzone par voie postale ou coursier, l’apostille, la remise au client, par voie postale, coursier ou en main propre.

Pour les documents destinés aux pays n’ayant pas adhéré à la Convention de La Haye, TI Traduce effectue son authentification reconnue, l’authentification notariée, l’authentification de la chancellerie du tribunal de Lugano, l’envoi des documents à la chancellerie de Bellinzone par voie postale ou coursier, la légalisation, la remise au client, par voie postale, coursier ou en main propre. Le client doit ensuite se rendre en personne au Consulat correspondant pour l’authentification finale.

TI Traduce est à même de réaliser toute la procédure d’authentifications jusqu’à la légalisation en 24 h.

 

Il existe différentes méthodes pour calculer le volume d’un projet : calcul au caractère, au mot, à la ligne ou à la page. Nous nous basons presque toujours sur le calcul de Microsoft Word (dans un document Word, cliquer sur révision/statistiques).

Caractère

On calcule les caractères, espaces inclus. Si les caractères sont comptés sans les espaces, voici le résultat : lesmotssontcôteàcôteetsontquasimentillisibles. Un mot correspond plus ou moins à 6 caractères (5 pour le mot + 1 pour l’espace) si le texte est en anglais : une page de 1500 caractères correspond environ à 250 mots anglais. Un mot italien correspond à environ 6,875 caractères d’après l’AITI (Association italienne des traducteurs et interprètes), c’est-à-dire 218 mots par page de 1500 caractères.

Mot

Le calcul au mot est le système le plus ancien et le plus utilisé au monde. Microsoft Word considère comme un mot ce qui est séparé par un espace, une fin de ligne, une fin de paragraphe, ou certaines ponctuations. L’allemand est caractérisé par des mots très longs, tandis qu’en anglais, par exemple, les mots sont relativement courts. Cela signifie que le client ne peut comparer le coût d’une traduction en plusieurs langues sur la base du calcul des mots.

Ligne

Ce système ne pénalise pas les langues dont les mots ont tendance à être longs. Il s’agit cependant d’une méthode imprécise étant donné que la ligne finale d’un paragraphe peut contenir un seul mot : des systèmes ont alors été inventés pour compter les lignes à moitié. Ces méthodes ont ensuite été supplantées par le calcul des caractères contenus dans une ligne, qui à leur tour varient d’une langue à l’autre. On compte en moyenne 55 caractères, c’est-à-dire 7 mots, par ligne.

Page

Il existe différents types de pages : juridique, journalistique, éditoriale, universitaire. La page à laquelle nous nous référons comprend 1500 caractères. Une page de 1500 caractères correspond environ à :

212-218 mots en italien

250 mots en anglais

210 mots en français

200 mots en allemand

Cours collectif

Lorsque la leçon se déroule avec deux élèves ou plus, on parle de cours collectif. L’avantage d’un cours collectif est que les participants ont l’occasion de se confronter les uns aux autres, en interagissant de façon constructive et stimulante avec l’enseignant (locuteur natif). Pour la bonne réussite d’un cours collectif, il est fondamental que le niveau de départ des participants soit identique, ce qui peut être établi grâce à un test de niveau. Il est tout aussi important que les thématiques à traiter, le rythme, l’intensité et la charge de travail à la maison soient similaires. La durée idéale d’une leçon doit être de 60 à 90 minutes, afin de pouvoir affronter le thème prévu avec suffisamment de temps et d’exploiter au mieux la courbe d’intérêt. Le nombre maximal de participants est, dans l’idéal, de 5-6.

Cours individuel

Le cours individuel permet d’exploiter au mieux le temps à disposition. L’étudiant poursuit l’apprentissage de la langue au rythme et à l’intensité qui lui conviennent, en s’attardant sur les concepts les plus difficiles et en survolant les compétences déjà acquises. Pouvoir décider avec flexibilité l’horaire des leçons est sans aucun doute une façon d’exploiter au mieux les cours, sans perdre de temps ni d’argent à cause d’autres engagements incontournables. Un autre avantage considérable concerne la possibilité de choisir le contenu, c’est-à-dire les thèmes des leçons ainsi que les secteurs de compétence, pour insister par exemple davantage sur la partie orale ou bien sur la grammaire.

Il existe différents types de tests présents également sur Internet. Le test idéal doit évaluer tous les secteurs : grammaire, lecture, écriture, écoute et expression orale. Souvent, les niveaux sont inégaux dans ces différents secteurs : par exemple un informaticien est plus à l’aise avec un texte écrit et rencontre plus de difficultés s’il doit parler au téléphone, tandis qu’une personne qui a appris la langue en vivant à l’étranger pendant un certain laps de temps bénéficie d’une excellente compréhension qui n’est pas toujours accompagnée d’une parfaite connaissance grammaticale. Pour une évaluation adéquate, il est important d’établir à l’avance la finalité du test, l’échelle de référence et certains paramètres, comme le nombre de groupes à former dans le cas d’un cours en entreprise.

Le CECR est l’acronyme de Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues. En anglais, on parle de CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages). Il a été établi de classer le degré de connaissance d’une langue européenne étrangère en six niveaux : A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2 en ordre croissant. Une personne de niveau A1 peut « survivre », en parvenant à demander à manger, à boire, à demander ou donner des indications en utilisant un langage extrêmement réduit et basique. Le niveau B1 est aujourd’hui considéré comme le niveau seuil, il correspond par exemple au niveau requis dans le domaine universitaire. Le niveau C2 atteste une maîtrise complète de la langue, de ses particularités et de ses nuances d’expression. Ce système de classement permet d’harmoniser et d’offrir une clé d’interprétation à différents certificats.

CEFR CAMBRIDGE IELTS TOEFL iBT BULATS TOEIC
A1 2-2,5 8-23 -20
A2 KET 3-3,5 24-56 20-40 246-380
B1 PET, BEC 1 4-5 57-86 40-60 381-540
B2 FCE, BEC 2 5,5-6,5 87-109 60-75 541-700
C1 CAE, BEC 3 7-8 110-120 75-90 701-910
C2 CPE 8,5-9,0 90- 911-990

Il existe entre 6000 et 7000 langues dans le monde, parlées par plus de 6 milliards de personnes dans 189 États indépendants. En théorie, il est possible de traduire depuis et vers toutes ces langues. Les plus utilisées sont cependant le chinois, l’espagnol, l’anglais, l’arabe, l’hindi, le bengali, le portugais, le russe, le japonais et l’allemand. Le français se trouve à la 15ème place des langues les plus parlées.

La première étape consiste à lire le texte à traduire, à souligner les termes dont la traduction doit être vérifiée et à faire les recherches nécessaires, aussi bien les recherches terminologiques que celles relatives aux connaissances culturelles nécessaires pour comprendre pleinement le texte de départ. Si cela est nécessaire, un glossaire est créé. Nos traducteurs sont spécialisés dans un domaine spécifique, par conséquent les phases de recherche et d’approfondissement sont allégées de par leur expérience et leur spécialisation.

L’étape suivante est la traduction du texte, phrase après phrase. La première version ressemble souvent à un brouillon : il faut alors parcourir à nouveau le texte traduit et le corriger. Le texte est ensuite imprimé et laissé « reposer ». La dernière étape consiste à réviser la traduction, en comparant le texte de départ au texte final et en corrigeant les dernières imperfections.

Cette affirmation est audacieuse. Personne ne connaît parfaitement une langue. En outre, un traducteur doit maîtriser au moins deux langues, pour pouvoir traduire. Il est également nécessaire de connaître les techniques de traduction et d’avoir un minimum d’expérience. Nous pouvons cependant prendre en considération votre candidature et vous proposer un test de traduction.

On estime qu’une page standard contient environ 250 mots (cela dépend des langues). Un professionnel traduit en moyenne une page standard par heure. Si cela semble peu, il faut tenir compte du fait que ce laps de temps comprend également les recherches, le glossaire, la mise en forme, la révision, l’enregistrement du projet et sa facturation.